UDUS Mail Alumni UDUS LMS UDUS SIS Departmental Journals OER Our Bulletin Tettfund NUC E-Journals

Usmanu Danfodiyo University Sokoto

The most peaceful university in Nigeria

Faculty of Physical and Computing Sciences


The then Dean and Chairman of the Faculty Board of Science, Professor  M. G. Abubakar, at its 185th Board meeting held on Friday, 1st December 2016, constituted the Faculty Strategic Committee in 2016.  The Committee was chaired by Professor Tukur Adamu.

Among the recommendations of the Committee was the splitting of the Faculty of Science into Faculty of Physical Sciences and Faculty of Life Sciences as well as upgrade of the academic units to full-fledged departments.  The recommendations were upheld by the Faculty Board.

The University Management after due consideration modified the nomenclature to Faculty of Physical and Computing Sciences and Faculty of Chemical and Life Sciences.

Furthermore, at the 327th meeting of the Senate held on Monday, 1st July 2019, the recommendations of the Faculty Board were upheld as amended.  The approval of the Senate was forwarded to the National Universities Commission (NUC) for further necessary action and was later approved.

The Faculty of Physical and Computing Sciences comprises of the following full-fledged departments:-

i.          Department of Computer Science

ii          Department of Geology

iii.        Department of Mathematics

iv.        Department of Physics and

v.         Department of Statistics.

Approval has also been given by NUC to commence the following degree programs:

vi.        Cyber Security

vii.       Software Development

On 9th May, 2022, the Vice Chancellor appointed Professor A.I. Garba as the pioneer Dean ( in acting capacity) to pilot the affairs of the successful take off of the Faculty. Also appointed along site the Dean were:

 i.         Dr. Sanusi Abdullahi (Ag. Deputy Dean),

ii.         Dr. Ahmed Audu (Faculty Examination Officer) and

iii.        Mr. S.O. Abuh was appointed by the Registrar as the Faculty Officer.

The faculty has eight Laboratories across the five Departments which are used for teaching, Departmental Seminars, and students practical. These include the Computing Laboratory, Mathematics Laboratory, Statistics Laboratory. Others are Petrology/Microscopy, Sedimentology and Geochemistry Laboratories in Geology Department and the General Physics Laboratory.

The faculty also has a shared central Teaching Laboratory that accommodates over two hundred students at a time for general chemistry and physics practical. The faculty also has several other ICT equipped laboratories for the conduct of CBT examinations as well as conference halls of world class standards at its discretion.

Apart from the undergraduate programs, the faculty also has robust Postgraduate programmes domiciled across the five Departments. 

All Departments of the Faculty obtained full accreditation during the last NUC Accreditation Exercise.

The faculty also, through the Department of Mathematics, hosted the 40th Annual National Conference of the Nigerian Mathematical Society in June 2023, cosponsored by the Usman Danfodiyo University and as well as some well to do alumni.

As at the 2022/2023 promotion exercise, the faculty is blessed with 84 academic staff comprising of 19 Professors, 13 Associate Professors, 21 Senior Lecturers, 17 Lecturer I, 10 lecturer II and 4 and Assistant Lecturers as illustrated bellow.

COMPUTER SC224662022
STATISTICS44                04                01013


To be a Centre of excellence in terms of teaching, research and community service in Physical and Computing Sciences.


To produce graduates with sound knowledge of basic conceptual and theoretical framework of classical and modern Physical and Computing Sciences, who are capable of pursuing successful careers in teaching and research in all fields of science and technology.


Prof. Aminu Mohammed
Dean, Faculty of Physical And Computing Sciences

Prof. Aminu Mohammed

Dean read more


Prof. A. Mohammed
View Profile
Dr. S. Abdullahi
Deputy Dean
View Profile
Dr. Ahmed AUDU
Faculty Examination Officer
View Profile
Prof. Isah Bala Yabo
Faculty Seminar Coordinator
View Profile
Dr. Abba Almu
Faculty Postgraduate Coordinator
View Profile
Umar Muhammad Jatau
Faculty Officer
View Profile
Bilyaminu Zubairu
Faculty Officer II
View Profile
Basiru A. Abubakar
Clerical Officer II
View Profile
Murtala Abbas
Faculty IT Staff & Desk Officer
View Profile