UDUS Mail Alumni UDUS LMS UDUS SIS Departmental Journals OER Our Bulletin Tettfund NUC E-Journals

Usmanu Danfodiyo University Sokoto

The most peaceful university in Nigeria

Governing Council

The Council of the University consists of:

  1. The Pro-Chancellor;
  2. The Vice-Chancellor;
  3. The Deputy Vice-Chancellors;
  4. Representative of the Federal Ministry of Education responsible for Education;
  5. Four (4) persons representing a variety of interests and broadly representative of the whole Federation to be appointed by the Federal Executive Council;
  6. Four (4) persons appointed by the Senate among its members;
  7. Two (2) persons appointed by Congregation from among its members;
  8. One (1) person appointed by Convocation from among its members.

Role of Council

  1. the Council, i.e. the governing body of the University, is charged with the general control and superintendence of policy, finances and properties of the University, including its public relations.
  2. The Council shall ensure that proper accounts of the University are kept and are audited annually by an independent firm of Auditors approved by the Council and that an annual report is published by the University together with certified copies of the said accounts as audited.
  3. The Council is responsible for the appointment, promotion and discipline of staff.
Sen. I. M. Ida, Wazirin KatsinaCON
Pro-Chancellor and Chairman
Prof. L. S. Bilbis
Vice Chancellor
Engr. B. Lawal
Appointee of the Federal Executive Council
Sen. (Dr) L. J. Zarami
Appointee of the Federal Executive Council
Dr. O. Nwankwor
Appointee of the Federal Executive Council
Hajiya B. Nasir
Appointee of the Federal Executive Council
E. K. Olu Osinaike
Rep. of the Federal Ministry of Education
Prof. M. G. Mahuta
Deputy Vice Chancellor Academic
Prof. M. M. Maishanu
Deputy Vice Chancellor Administration
Prof. Y. Saidu
DVC (R. I & D)
Prof. A. A. Bagudo
Senate Representative
Prof. M. I. Said
Senate Representative
Prof. D. M. Sahabi
Senate Representative
Prof. M. M. Maishanu
Senate Representative
Prof. A. Sabo
Congregation Representative
A. I. Chafe
Congregation Representative
Prof. A. S. R. Matazu
Convocation Representative
Mallam N. A. Belko
Registrar & Secretary
Bursar (In Attendance)
Arc. D. J. Matankari
Ag. Director, PP&D
(In Attendance)
Engr. S. A. Lawal
Director, Procurement
(In Attendance)
S. Abubakar
PAR (General Admin)
(In Attendance)
B. A. Ngaski
SAR (Council Affairs)
(In Attendance)