UDUS Mail Alumni UDUS LMS UDUS SIS Departmental Journals OER Our Bulletin Tettfund NUC E-Journals

Usmanu Danfodiyo University Sokoto

The most peaceful university in Nigeria

Postgraduate School

The Postgraduate School (PGS) was established in 1983. The School is headed by a Dean who is assisted by two Deputy Deans and a Secretary. The School deals with all matters which have to do with admission, registration, records, examination of theses and dissertations, official correspondence of graduate students.

The Postgraduate School (PGS) coordinates postgraduate level academic programmes for Faculties and College of Health Sciences within the University. The School was established in 1983 and admitted its first set of students from the foundation faculties in the same year. It graduated its first set (two graduates of M.Sc. Botany) in 1985. As part of its coordinating role, the Postgraduate School’s mandate under the direction of the Board of Postgraduate School includes: Promoting the development and effective delivery of postgraduate programmes to address emerging national and international issues; and to maintain high standards and ensure high quality postgraduate programme output. Additionally, the Postgraduate School deals with all matters which have to do with admission, registration and records, examination of theses and dissertations, and official correspondence of postgraduate studies. It also regulates and offers advice on postgraduate programmes being offered in the University’s affiliate institutions within the country.

The programmes that are currently being offered and coordinated by the Postgraduate School include: various Postgraduate Diploma Programmes cutting across all faculties, Master of Arts (MA), Master of Science (MSc), Master of Public Health (MPH), Master of Education (MEd), Master of Laws (LLM), Master of Business Administration (MBA), Executive Master of Business Administration (EMBA), Master of Public Administration (MPA), Master of Veterinary Medicine (MVM), Master of Philosophy (MPhil) and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) across thirteen faculties and the College of Health Sciences. In addition, during the tenure of the current administration in the University, the long-awaited postgraduate programmes in the Clinical Sciences, Basic Clinical Sciences, Dental Sciences and Allied Sciences of the College of Health Sciences have been approved by National Universities Commission (NUC) and are being coordinated by the School beginning from the 2023/2024 Academic Session, the programmes are as follows:
M.Sc. and Ph.D. Medicine with options in: i. Internal Medicine ii. Psychiatry
M.Sc. and Ph.D. Obstetrics and Gynaecology
M.Sc. and Ph.D. Surgical Science with the following specialization: i. General Surgery ii. Orthopaedic and Trauma iii. Ophthalmology iv. Otorhinolaryngology v. Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery vi. Urology
M.Sc. and Ph.D. Paediatrics and Child Health
M.Sc. and Ph.D. Radiology
Ph.D. Public Health
M.Sc. and Ph.D. Neuroscience
M.Sc. and Ph.D. Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics
M.Sc., M.Phil. and Ph.D. Chemical Pathology and Immunology
M.Sc. and Ph.D. Haematology and Blood Transfusion
M.Sc. and Ph.D. Clinical Microbiology
M.Sc. and Ph.D. Anatomic Pathology and Forensic Medicine
PGD., M.Sc. and Ph.D. Nursing Science
PGD., M.Sc. and Ph.D. Urologic Nursing

It is also worth mentioning to report that the Academic Regulation (Students’ Handbook) of the Postgraduate School is being reviewed to cater for the multifarious needs of our various stakeholders.

Our Vision

“To strive in achieving state-of-the-art teaching, research and innovation, to become a globally reputed first-rate Postgraduate School, and attracts the best students and staff worldwide”

Our Mission

“The Postgraduate School aims to attract, educate, train and transform qualified persons to high level manpower that are well equipped with appropriate and up-to-date knowledge and esoteric skills in teaching, research and innovation and spread-out for first-class socio-economic development and improvement in all scope of human endeavor i.e. Arts, Humanities, Healthcare, Pure and Applied Chemistry”


Prof. A. S. Abdullahi
Dean, Faculty of Postgraduate School

Prof. A. S. Abdullahi

read more


Prof. A. S. Abdullahi
Dean PG-School
View Profile
Prof. A. Y. Abbas
Deputy Dean I PG-School
View Profile
Prof. A. S. Muhamad
Deputy Dean II PG-School
View Profile
Mrs. Z. B. Ibrahim
Secretary PG-School
View Profile
Tukur Damma Abdullahi
Assistant Secretary PG-School
View Profile
Jazuli Abdullahi Muhammad
Administrative Officer
View Profile
Mrs. Rihanatt Sule
Dean's Secretary
View Profile
Aliyu Manu
Executive Officer Admin
View Profile
Abdulrahman Ali
Senior Executive Officer
View Profile
Usman Abdullahi
H.E.O Admin
View Profile
Lawal Ibrahim
E. O. Administration
View Profile
Mrs. Peninah S. Onakpa
Principal Executive Officer II
View Profile
Abdulrashid Musa
Secretary to the Secretary
View Profile
Habibu Hassan
Secretary to the Deputy Dean I
View Profile
Jamilu Alasaini
IT Support Staff 
View Profile
Abdulkarim Umar
Clerical Officer
View Profile
Mustapha Ibrahim
Office Assistant
View Profile